God’s Task

by Sis. Tin Valencia

world-in-Gods-hand

Acts 20:24, NIV) – “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.”

I remember when I enrolled myself to college way back then; there was an interview portion. One of the clinical instructors asked me “What is your goal for yourself?  What are your plans for your future? Where do you see yourself five, ten years from now? Our clinical instructor was simply assessing my answer if my heart really desires to be a nurse. Even my planned didn’t become a reality for me to succeed in becoming a nurse. I know God has better plan for it.

No matter what our goal we have set, we only have limited time here on earth. The oldest man recorded is said to be 122 years old. Some say “lucky” and some say “unlucky” that they didn’t live longer on earth. But, how old or young you may live isn’t important. The most important thing is to finish the race what God’s task has given to us, the mission of sharing the good news of God’s grace to everyone.

That “task” does not require you to become a nurse, an engineer, a teacher or whatever you’ve accomplished. This task doesn’t require you to make a lot of money or to give everything you own to the church or to achieve your dreams. It only requires an obedient heart, one that Honor God’s word and loves the Lord with all his heart, mind and soul. One with a pure heart, whether you  have the lowest position of job in your office, it doesn’t matter.

Our academic accomplishments and the riches in our bank account don’t matter to GOD. For the eyes of God, We are all the same! No one is less than anyone else. No one is greater than anyone else either. We were all placed on this earth strategically by our Father in Heaven, to do His will, not ours. He placed some of us in lowly positions, not because we are lowly, but because He knew we could do the most good in those places. And, He has elevated others so they can use their position to elevate even more people and to bring them closer to Christ. Unfortunately, where human nature is involved, some people fall back on their own free will and use their positions to better themselves instead of our Savior. We live in a broken world. However, it’s not so broken that it can’t be fixed. It takes just one person at a time. Like Paul suggests, our lives aren’t worth anything unless we use them in a way that brings glory to our Savior! Where do I see myself five years from now? I pray “I see myself a more closer to our Lord!”

Leave a Reply

